DFP Header Area

Ulster team named for Ospreys at Ravenhill

Guinness PRO12 Editor

5 Jan 2010

Head Ulster Coach Brian McLaughlin has named an extended 28 man squad, ahead of Ulster’s Magners League home match against Ospreys, on Friday 8th January.

Commenting on the Magners League fixture, Ulster Coach Brian McLaughlin said: "We have to make sure we are up for the game, we have to compete and we have to make sure we beat them at Ravenhill. We have to go to town with them up front and we have to show that we are more than capable of dealing with them.

"Although we gained victory over Ospreys at the start of the season, we all know not to under estimate them. Ospreys are a dangerous side, who can and do compete at the highest level, we need to ensure we give them nothing to play with.

"At training this week we will work hard in certain areas of the pitch, the focus will be to put down our patterns of play, after that, on the day, it’s just a matter of us holding onto the ball and making the best use of any chances we have. We must put them under pressure.

"It’s vital for our Magners League campaign that we win our home games and build a solid platform from them."

Only 6 points separate Ulster from Ospreys, on an extremely tight and competitive Magners League table.

The starting 22 will be named on Thursday at 12noon.


Declan Fitzpatrick, Bryan Young, BJ Botha, Nigel Brady, Andy Kyriacou, Ed O’Donoghue, Dan Tuohy, Ryan Caldwell, Chris Henry, Tom Court, Stephen Ferris, Willie Faloon, TJ Anderson, Neil McComb, David Pollock


Jamie Smith, Clinton Schifcofske, Simon Danielli, Darren Cave, Ian Whitten, Timoci Nagusa, Ian Humphreys, Niall O’Connor, Isaac Boss, Paddy Wallace, Andrew Trimble, Cillian Willis, Jonny Shiells